Chapter Twelve

Gerard
Emmy was right. I had to apologize to Lucy for my behaviour seeing as I truly had no right to be snooping into her business. I really should apologize.

However seeing as how complicated of a person Lucy is, I didn’t think that a simple, ‘I’m sorry’ would suffice. So I would have to think if something original, something that will undoubtedly show her how genuinely sorry I was.

Talking to Emmy was nice. Though it was nothing compared to hearing her voice in person. It thrilled me that I would be hearing her voice each day until her return. And maybe, just maybe she would believe me.

What was it about women and not trusting me? I think I’m a pretty straight-forward guy. What you see is what you get. Just because I’m in my forties and haven’t been in a stable relationship for god knows how long! Doesn’t mean I’m not in touch with my feelings…

Quite the opposite actually. I love Emmy. I know this.

I could feel myself drifting off to sleep on the couch. Some old movie was playing and the noise lulled me into a dreamless night.

xXx

In the morning I woke with a jump, startled by a sound of a revving engine. My heart nearly beat out of my chest as I looked around wildly for the source of the noise.

I scanned around the entire area to see nothing but my empty hotel room but the sound once again filed my ears, directing my senses to the T.V that was still playing.

Motorcycles. That was the cause of my awakening. It must have been an old movie channel because this one was in black and white. Four men on bikes racing down an empty road.

I looked at the clock on a nearby wall to see it was only six in the morning, “Fucking hell” I groaned and rolled back onto the couch. I hated being up this early, especially on a day off.

I stare at the ceiling wishing for sleep to claim me once again but I knew it would never come. It was a hopeless endeavour.

Giving up, I stumble to the bathroom and turned on the shower hoping it would help the grogginess that engulfed me, “Stupid, fucking motorcycles” I mumbled as I slipped into the steaming water.

I didn’t actually hate bikes. I ride them often enough, I had one back home at my Mum’s.

I wondered then if Lucy had ever been on one… I could take her around Long Island on a ride, have a day full of excitement and then maybe she would forgive me. It actually sounded quite perfect. I even smiled to myself as I was shameless to admit that I was rather proud of myself at this moment.

Quickly I finished up in the shower and got dressed. I made a quick call to room service then called the hotel desk to see if they knew of a place I could rent a bike for the day and luckily for me there was one that wasn’t far from the hotel.

Grabbing my leather jacket, I headed out of the hotel and walked down the street, on my way to pick up the bike that I had procured over the phone. I called Lucy, “Hello?” she asked in a quiet voice.

“Lucy, it’s Gerry”

The silence on the other end of the phone practically buzzed.

I took a deep breath, “I’m sorry for what I did and I want to make it up to you. Are you busy today?” I asked and for the first time since I had conjured up this plan, I realized that she might not accept my offer.

There was another long silence. For that entire time my heart clenched and I felt as if there was a large lump in my throat…

“What time should I be expecting you?” she asked.

I released a long breath that I wasn’t aware I had been holding and grinned to myself like a fool, “I’ll be there in an hour” I said, “Make sure to bring a jacket and wear jeans”

She didn’t question my veto on the wardrobe and we both hung up. I smiled. I was going to make this a day one that she would never forget.

The end of the hour was approaching and I had just pulled up to the hotel again. I pulled the bike into a park and kicked the stand down before I pulled off my helmet and held at my side waiting for Lucy.

I was clad in a black leather jacket and fitting jeans, as well as a pair of tan glasses. This was nothing new for me. This was my typical bike wear.

Right on the dot of the hour Lucy appeared out of the hotel.

At first I didn’t recognise her. Her long hair that was normally pinned back was down today. Her beautiful locks framing her face. She was wearing jeans like I instructed, but they were tight jeans that perfectly accented her shape. Something I wasn’t used to.

She was also wearing a simple t-shirt and. In hand was her jacket.

I blinked. She was breath-taking.

She glanced around for a moment and spotted me. She didn’t seem impressed as she placed a pair of black glasses over her beautiful green eyes and approached me.

“Morning” I smiled.

She came to a stop and folded her arms over her chest. Hostility radiated off her.

This wasn’t going to be easy, she was still angry. I decided to break the ice, “Ever been on a bike?” I asked as I handed her the helmet.

She shook her head and placed the helmet on. But before she could even attempt to, I leaned over and grabbed the buckles and did them up.

Though I couldn’t see them, I had a feeling her eyes were glaring at me, “Where are we going?” she asked.

Leaning away I smiled as I placed my own helmet on, “It’s a surprise” I smiled as I kicked up the stand.

Sighing she stepped onto the bike and wound her arms tightly around my torso as I reeved the engine to life and pulled out into traffic.

Quickly we were out of the city and onto the open road, the beautiful sea to the right of us. But I couldn’t focus on the site for long. Her hands felt surprisingly comfortable around me and I couldn’t help but love the feel of her body against mine. How she seemed to mould to me… eventually I felt her relax and place her chin on my upper back and felt the faint tingle of her breath on my ear.

I began to lose myself in the feel of Lucy against me and the freedom the bike gave me until I realized that we had started to head north. We must have been riding for quite a while so I pulled over where there was an access to a beach- a deserted one at that.

It wasn’t particularly warm today, so I could understand why there wouldn’t be many people on the beach.

Out of the corner of my eye I watched as Lucy swung her leg over the bike and stepped down onto the gravel.

“So, now that we’re out in the middle of nowhere” she began, “are you going to kill me and throw my body into the ocean?” she smiled.

I smiled back as I pulled off my helmet; the bike ride had obviously improved her mood, “Now” I said as I leaned back and grabbed the small bag I had secured there, “we have lunch”

We then walked down to the beach and unlike me, Lucy didn’t hesitate to kick off her shoes and sit down. Smiling I sat down and began to unpack the bag of food I had ordered from room service this morning.

“Oh, this is so wrong” said Lucy suddenly.

Frowning in confusion I looked up, “what?”

“In Australia you eat hot chips on the beach, not-” she glanced at the food, “small sandwiches, cheese, grapes, biscuits and dip” she said with a smile.

I smiled, “I’ll keep that in mind”

“For the next time you want to apologize for being a nosy ass?” she asked with a rather patronizing smile.

“Very well, how would you suggest I apologize?” I asked with an equally patronizing smile.

“Well grovelling” she said, “flattery, gifts, more grovelling” she listed.

I sighed as I realised she was joking, “how about I just say I’m sorry and promise never to do it again?” I asked.

“That could work” she said, “If you mean it” she qualified.

“I’m sorry” I said seriously, “and I promise to never invade your privacy again” I promised.

As I said it, I realized it was going to be quite hard to keep that promise because the more time I spent around her, the more I wanted to know about her.

“Good!” she said with a satisfied nod, “I forgive you”

And with that the day progressed without a hitch.

We sat on the beach talking and eating for an immeasurable amount of time. I found when Lucy was talking she was very easy to get along with.

We shared many common interest and I was able to learn a few things about her. Which only increased my curiosity.

But I kept my promise… for now.

xXx

Patrick
I had been enjoying my day off. I was relaxing. Sitting in my hotel room I had been watching television, reading and all around just catching up on some much needed time for myself.

But all the while I had a niggling in the back of my mind, not an annoyance more something that I couldn’t forget… something that was sounding in my head continuously through-out the day.

It took me a while to realize that I was hearing Lucy’s voice and that all the day, my thoughts had been going to the girl with the bewitching voice and green eyes.

I wanted to know more about her. I wanted to be with her more. I wanted me to be something more to her.

So when lunch time rolled around I thought it would be the perfect opportunity for the two of us to spend some time together. But when I rang her room, she didn’t answer. Determined I rang her mobile, again, no answer.

Grasping at straws, I rang Andrew.

“Hello Patrick, to what do I owe the pleasure?” he asked.

“I was trying to find Lucy, I thought she might be with you” I said, I tried to sound casual. For some reason I wanted to down-play my reason for wanting to speak to her to Andrew.

He was like a Father to her and I thought he might not like it if he knew my interest.

“She’s gone out for the day, I’m not sure when she will be back, but I will tell her you called” he said.

I nodded as I absorbed the information. We said our goodbyes and I hung up the phone.

My mind immediately began to wonder where she had gone and why and for a while it seemed as if these were questions to which I would never know the answer to, but then a loud roaring from an engine interrupted my thoughts.

I frowned as it began to get louder and went to my balcony to see what the cause of the noise was, looking down I saw a motorbike, with two people perched upon it, pull onto the side of the road in front of the hotel. I watched as one of the passengers, a girl, jumped off and took her helmet off.

Blinking rapidly I couldn’t quite believe my eyes. It was Lucy. As sure as anything it was Lucy, but who was she with?

Focusing my attention on the driver I was shocked when he took off his helmet because I realized it was Gerard.

A million possibilities of why the two of them would be together, on a motorbike no less ran through my head, but one of them became glaringly obvious when Lucy leaned over and wrapped her arms around Gerard in a hug.

Had the two of them gone on a date? It was possible. They were both single I reasoned. Technically Lucy and I weren’t together, on this I had to concede. And while I suspected Gerard had something going on with Emmy, she wasn’t here now. So who was to stop him going out with someone else?

For some reason I didn’t like it. Gerard… wasn’t right for Lucy. The thought of them together had me worried and I couldn’t figure out why.

I watched with the upmost scrutiny as the two of them walked towards the hotel. They did not hold hands, for which I was thankful, but their laughter floated up the building so that even I could hear.

While I relished in the sound of Lucy’s laughter, I wanted to be the one to make her laugh. Not Gerard.

Gripping the railing tightly I could see veins beginning to bulge in my hand. I was angry. And I couldn’t figure out why.

14 Comments

Filed under The Moments Gone

14 responses to “Chapter Twelve

  1. Fairyteyla

    Wow it was a long time since I was the first to post a comment!
    This chapter was really too short.
    How will Pat react in front Lucy and Gerry? It will be funny! I know Lucy loves Pat and Gerry loves Emmy but Pat doesn’t!
    Can’t wait to know! Will there be a confrontation during a scene? Mamma MIA!

  2. K. Wade

    So close! I can’t believe that I wasn’t first to comment! I’m going to get back into that routine somehow! I can’t wai till the next update! Is some of my comment doesnt make sense, it’s cause I can’t see what I’m writing cause the comment box is messing up.

  3. K. Wade

    Can’t wait till the nex update! I LOVE this sort so mch! Still can’t see what I’m writing!

  4. FlamingBee

    Awesome as always (:

  5. AstonMartin

    Nothing like a bit of jealousy to spice things up😉 Update soon!

  6. Fairyteyla

    Update soon please please please!!!

  7. K. Wade

    Wow I’m really behind on my commenting. But with softball season starting, I can’t get on the computer as often. Which SUCKS! So to commenting! I love this story, and can’t wait till the update!

  8. K. Wade

    I cant wait till the next update! This story is sooooo EPIC!

  9. K. Wade

    You know when I was posting comments, when I posted the last one a message came up basically saying stop commenting your going too fast. Wow, I knew my commenting was going to get me into trouble sometime. Can’t wait till the next update!

  10. K. Wade

    Please update! I’m dieting here!

  11. K. Wade

    Update, I command you!

  12. K. Wade

    Three more to go! Please update! And about a comment that said I was dieting, I’m not I meant that I’m dying.

  13. K. Wade

    Almost there! I LOVE this story sooooo much; I can’t wait till the next update!

  14. K. Wade

    Last one! I got my friend to listen to the POTO soundtrack, and she is now a Phan-girl. Not a full fledged one though, like she’ll watch the movie, but not read fan fictions. Oh well, her loss. Can’t wait till the next update!

Leave a Reply

